Seekonk Talks
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Seekonk Talks

This forum is a place to discuss all things Seekonk. We are not affiliated with the Town of Seekonk.

HomeGalleryLatest imagesRegisterLog in
SPECIAL TOWN VOTE AUG 31ST!!! VOTE YAY OR NAY FOR THE NORTH FIRE STATION RENOVATION!!!
March 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
CalendarCalendar
Newspapers

Answering Dave's Ad: Quinn For School Committee

Go down 
AuthorMessage
David_Quinn

Answering Dave's Ad: Quinn For School Committee Empty
PostAnswering Dave's Ad: Quinn For School Committee

Dear readers:

My name is David J. Quinn. I wanted to take Dave up on his want ad and announce my candidacy for school committee in the Town of Seekonk. I am a twenty-year resident of Seekonk and a proud graduate of Seekonk High School (Class of 2004).

Currently, I am a graduate student at Brown University in the Department of Education where I will complete my Masters of Arts in Teaching in May.

The majority of my practice-based experience has been working within the Seekonk School Department. In 2008-09, I served as the Behavior Intervention Coordinator and as head baseball coach at the Dr. Kevin M. Hurley Middle School. I am now finishing my student teaching at Seekonk High School in the History Department. These experiences have provided me the opportunity to see the strengths and the needs of our secondary schools.

In addition to my experience in education, I also have a business background, earning my B.S. from the Isenberg School of Management at the University of Massachusetts—Amherst. During my tenure at UMass I earned numerous awards for both academic achievement and leadership. While a junior, I was hired by the United States Golf Association to help coordinate the 5300-person volunteer staff at the 2007 U.S. Open Championship in Pittsburgh, PA. As a senior, I was also asked to serve on the Sport Management Department Faculty Search Committee.